Four research units (RUs) were established in 2006 including Clinical Pharmacy (CPRU), Social Pharmacy (SPRU), Primary Care Pharmacy (PCPRU), and Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Natural products (PCNRU). A number of both qualitative and quantitative research projects have been conducted in many settings such as the university, hospitals and the community. Many research projects have been funded by the national funding bodies. Research collaborations have been undertaken with local, national and international organizations. All of these RUs aim to become centers of excellence in their fields.